Elder Peper

My Mission Experience

Mother’s Day Letter

Today I received a very nice Mother’s Day card from Elder Peper with the enclosed letter dated May 4, 2011:

Hey Mom 🙂

How are things going back in C-Town?  Things in Altus are quite good.  We had two baptisms this past Sunday.  It was pretty cool.  One was Bradley, who actually was in a cab at the time we first met him.  He had the driver pull over and he basically said he wanted some company.  My first reaction was, “This will probably be a waste of time.  This guy is just lonely and needs some company.”  I was obviously pretty wrong.  What started out as a lonely depressed guy with an alcohol problem, turned out to be a very faithful man who is sober and has let the atonement of Jesus Christ completely transform his life.  It is people like Bradley that make all the adversity and rough days on a mission worth it.

The other person who was baptized was Todd.  He was dating a member here in Altus, but I guess things didn’t work out.  In any case, he is moving last minute tomorrow.  So, we called President Taylor and tried to figure out what we needed to do (as we were planning to confirm him a member in Church this Sunday).  The plan now is to confirm him before he leaves tomorrow night.  He’s a cool guy whom I care about a lot.

We have quite a few people to teach, but they all seem to have a ways to go in order to progress to baptism, but that’s okay.  We will just have to keep teaching them and find those who will receive us.  Being a missionary is so rewarding.  It’s crazy how much being on a mission is changing me.  I remember when I was a greenie and I was so terrified to get up in front of a group of 7 other missionaries.  Now, I can give a Sacrament Meeting talk and it doesn’t really phase me.  I used to type up every single word that I was planning to say in a talk, but now I can get up there with a simple outline and go with it.  It’s fun to be able to do that.

Elder King is an awesome companion.  I can easily see him being at the top of my “favorite companions” list.  Really, I’ve been lucky.  I haven’t had a companion that I’ve wanted to punch in the face (knock on wood).

I don’t know what else to say other than Happy Mother’s Day!  I love you so much! I can’t wait to talk to you on the phone on Mother’s Day for the LAST TIME on my mission.  That blows my mind.  I love you, Mom.  I will give you a great big hug in just a few short months.  It will be here before you know it.  I know you are receiving blessings beyond measure for me being out here.

Love,

Elder Peper

P.S.  Thanks for the new suit.  It rocks! 🙂

May 7, 2011 - Posted by | Letters from Elder Peper, Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Enjoy your MOther’s day phone call, Michelle. So happy that he will be home in a few months.

    Comment by Geneil | May 7, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

