Elder Peper

My Mission Experience

Two Letters in One Week?! Wow!

Dec. 2, 2010

HEY everyone!

I borrowed this typewriter from the Spanish missionaries, so that I can write letters more quickly.  The drawback is that I can’t correct my typos, so I guess you’ll just have to try and decipher a few of the words in this letter . . . or perhaps all of them.  As you can tell, the shift button is also a little broken.  It sticks when you push it down and it’s a really big pain to pull it back up every time, so I’m not going to use the shift key.

How are things going in Washington? I just got mom’s letter today.  Perfect timing for my year mark.  It sounded like Thanksgiving was awesome.  Snow on top of snow, what more could you ask for.  Actually, I hear that we’re supposed to get either snow or ice net week in a storm, so that’s pretty exciting.  The weather here is so weird.  It was 65 or so today and it’s supposed to snow next week.  I wonder if it will actually happen, though.  The weathermen don’t seem to know a whole lot about upcoming weather in Oklahoma.  So, have you guys been skiing this season yet? Or is work still too busy for you to be worrying about that yet?

Well, today was our yearly Christmas missionary temple conference.  So, it turned out to be a really good day.  We left our apartment at about 7:30 for Oklahoma City and went to the temple and had a short missionary meeting, as well.  I got to see a lot of my friends from previous areas and things like that, the temple was good, as well.  I had a really good time and I’m really blessed to have a temple in my mission, and it’s really close to Norman—about an hour drive . . . maybe even 45 minutes.

One of our investigators has a baptismal date for December 18, and he’s doing really well.  If you could extend your prayers for him that would be fantastic.  One thing that I noticed on my mission, that I heard a lot of people talk about before I came on my mission, is that Satan will work really hard at discouraging those and tempting those who have committed to a baptismal date.  I always thought that people made that sound like a bigger deal than it really was, but it’s really true.  There have been quite a few investigators that I’ve taught or that I’ve heard about who have backed out of their baptism shortly before their date because Satan is working real hard on them.  It’s real and it just shows you the power that Satan really has on people.

Today has been one year on my mission.  It just honestly feels like another regular day . . . other than the fact that we went to the temple.  Time really has flown, and I’m sure that it’s just going to get faster and faster, because that’s been my experience so far.  Every transfer that I’ve been out has just gone more and more quickly.  I can’t believe this is my 3rd transfer in Norman already.  I remember it felt pretty long by my 3rd transfer in Burkburnett, TX.  Speaking of Texas, I have heard that Jackie is doing really well and is super active and everything.  The family with the mom and 2 kids we baptized are doing really well, too.  I hear from them occasionally.  I hear from Brother F. a lot, as well.  I haven’t talked to anyone from Shawnee for a while, I should probably do that soon.

Let’s see . . . what else is new . . . Valerie is doing really well.  She is actually living in our apartment complex now, so that is pretty handy.  All of the people that we see on a regular basis seem to be doin really good.

Oh, we just got back from something that was really cool.  There is an investigator named Eve, whose father just passed away, and she said that we could come over to her parents’ house tonight to teach a lesson (or at least that’s what we thought we were going over for).  We called her right before we left our ward mission leader’s house (who gave us a ride over there) for directions.  She told us that she didn’t want to have a lesson tonight because there were a ton of people over there that were her family and friends.  So, we decided to go over there to say hello and to see if there was anything that they needed.  When we got there, there were over 20 people in the apartment and they were all there for a “death celebration” or a celebration of life, I guess (the whole family is from Camaroon by the way).  In any case, there was a lot of singing and dancing and stuff like that and it turned out to be really cool.  They wouldn’t let us leave without trying some of the food that they had made.  So, we did and it was really good stuff.  It was actually a really cool time and everyone there was super nice to us and were really grateful that we were able to come over.  It was just a really cool experience.  Oh, Eve’s cousin is a member, I forgot to mention that.

Well, I guess that’s about all I’ve got for now.  Thanks for everything.  You are the coolest family that anyone could ever ask for, and I didn’t even have to ask for you (I don’t think).  I think I was just lucky enough to get to be sent to you.  Well, I hope everything is going well for everyone.  Take care.  Tell Madi and Delaney and everyone else who I can’t see that I love them tons.  Thanks again.  I love you.  I will call you pretty soon. J

Love,

Elder Peper

PS:  I think I just wrote you a couple of days ago.  I can’t remember for sure, though.  If I did—you get a bonus!

December 6, 2010 - Posted by | Letters from Elder Peper

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

