Elder Peper

My Mission Experience

Patience

Hey, Dad:
I’m trying to get my priesthood line of authority. They need to know who ordained you an Elder, but I think that since you’re a high priest now, it would be who ordained you to be a high priest wouldn’t it? Anyway, can I get who ordained you to be an Elder and a High Priest? Thanks.

Things are going well in Norman.  I now know that I was sent here to learn patience. Everything that is happening in this area is requiring me to exercise my patience. It’s a good thing, but it can be really difficult at times. I do like it here a lot, though. Being in a bike area is good for me. I like it some days, but other days I wish I had a car again. The weather suddenly became fall-like starting yesterday. The highs went from 90 to high 70s overnight. It’s supposed to be like that for at least the next couple of weeks. I’m told that the falls are really nice and long here, which I’m excited about. Apparently, the weather is supposed to be fall-like until the end of November. Everyone seems to love the falls in Oklahoma.

We are striving to work more closely with members. President Taylor came to Norman 1st Ward last week for ward conference and taught 2nd and 3rd hour. He said that members should get rid of the “What can I do to help the missionaries?” attitude and change it to more of a “What can the missionaries do to help us?” He said that the ward was the mission and that full-time missionaries are to be used as a resource for wards and areas that they serve in. It was really interesting because everything he said was backed up in Preach My Gospel. I learned a lot.

Well, things are going good here. What about you? Are you guys gearing up for ski season? It’s a bummer I’ll miss Warren Miller this year. I guess you’ll have to watch it twice for me. I hope to hear back from you soon. I love you.

Love,
Elder Peper

September 27, 2010 - Posted by | Letters from Elder Peper

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

