Elder Peper

My Mission Experience

First Week in Norman

Hey!

First off, I would like to apologize because I forgot my camera at the apartment. So, you will have to wait until next week to get all of my really cool pictures that I took. I’m now in Norman, Oklahoma. Norman is the home of OU. This town is crazy. Last week, on Saturday, was the first game of the season. It was a home game, and the entire town (plus a ton of people from surrounding areas) went to the OU campus and had one gigantic party. The Norman missionaries all went to the Institute building for this thing that they call the “Family Fun Zone.” The stake here puts together a giant party fit with moon bounces, free food, free snow cones, free cotton candy, and projectors and TVs playing football games leading up to the OU game. Our job was to hand out snow cones, cotton candy, hot dogs, and water. There are a ton of people always walking by there. It was a really fun time. Our mission president and his family showed up as well. I didn’t recognize Sister Taylor at first because she was in jeans. They were all going to the game. After the game started and the crowds kind of died down, Elder Evans and I walked around Norman and talked to a few people. We also walked around the stadium (which you can hear from all over town) and took some pretty cool pictures and video. I will be sure to get that to you next week. It was a really awesome day, and we get to do it this Saturday as well.

Sunday was my first chance to go to church here in Norman 1st Ward. The people in the ward are really awesome and they are really nice to missionaries. We have a really, really good ward mission leader, so that is always a plus. There is a lady who is really excited for her baptism, which is coming up in October. I haven’t had a really good chance to meet a lot of the members, but I like the members whom I have met so far. Things seem to be going okay here at the moment. Shawnee, I hear, is like a snowball, and they just keep getting more and more and more people to teach. All of the investigators there, by the way, are from member referrals, and it works out wonderfully. I’m really happy for them. Elder Palmer seems to like his greenie.

There is a family here called the Reeves. Their daughter converted to the church a few years ago, and then went on a mission to Boise, Idaho. Soon after, the Reeves got baptized. They have been in the church for only a few years, but you sure couldn’t tell it. I like talking to Brother Reeves. He’s a really smart guy. They let us come over every P-Day morning and make breakfast for us, and let us do a load of laundry. They are a really awesome family. They are super into geneology work. In fact, during second block at church on Sundays, Brother Reeves teaches a geneology class in the Family History Center. I thought that was pretty cool.

I’m not sure of too much else to say. Everything seems to be going really well here in Norman. I like this city a lot. It’s a really pretty town. I hope everything is going well with you back home. It sounds like the weather there is awesome. It’s been really good here as well. It’s been in the 80s the past couple of weeks, and it’s nice. I hope Madi’s arm is getting better. I love you guys.

Love,
Elder Peper

September 6, 2010 - Posted by | Letters from Elder Peper, Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

