Elder Peper

My Mission Experience

The “Big 4”

Hey Everybody!

Greetings from Oklahoma!  Things are going really well for us right now.  Shawnee seems to be a good place.  I do like being here a lot.  The work seems to be going well.

We drove to Norman, OK yesterday (actually, it’s a very nice and seemingly livable town–the OU campus is there) to meet our new Mission President, President Taylor.  He is a direct descendant of John Taylor [the third President of the Church].  From what I could tell so far, they are a really nice family.  They brought two of their sons, aged 15 & 13, to Oklahoma with them.  The rest of their kids are older.

The First Presidency, over the course of the next year, is making a lot of changes to the missionary work.  We will still be using “Preach My Gospel” but there will be another book with 8 lessons in it.  These lessons aren’t for the investigators, but they are for us.  They are changing a lot of our meetings, too.  Zone Conferences, which are held every six weeks, will now be held quarterly.  So, our next Zone Conference won’t be until August (can you believe I’ll be 20 next month?).  There is a new meeting that is for Zone Leaders, District Leaders and Trainers that will be held every other month.  The kicker is that this meeting will be four days long.  That is insane.  I’m curious to see how that will be.

We’re making measurable progress with our investigators.  We sill have the “Big 4” solid investigators.  The oldest one has a baptismal date for July 17.  As of Sunday, she had been off cigarettes for four days, and she seems to be doing quite well.  She really is the perfect investigator.

Our next investigator is a nine-year-old kid.  His dad is a returned missionary from Italy; well, his mission was in Italy.  I’m not really sure why he isn’t active, but we’re working with them.  His wife, a convert, was apparently offended at one point and said she wouldn’t come back.  We’ll see.

Our third investigator is an awesome guy.  His beliefs are pretty much the same as ours, except just worded differently.  I really love teaching him because it’s a really sophisticated lesson.  We’re told to usually teach so an 8-year-old could understand, but if we did that with him, he would probably throw up.  His major hang up is believing that Jesus Christ is the Savior of the world.  Still, I can tell that we’re making progress every time we meet with him.

Finally, we have a lady who has a recent-convert husband.  We’re making really good progress with her.  She hates being put on the spot, and last night was really good.  I was able to ask her what her thoughts were on the church while she was getting me a drink.  I know that she will be baptized and become a member of the church at some point.  She is a really awesome lady.

It seems like all of our investigators are eventually going to join the church.  It’s only a matter of time.  I’m really happy about that.

My companion and I have been playing a lot of soccer together.  So, that’s pretty fun.  Hopefully, I won’t suck at it when I get home.  I’ve also been able to get a lot better at basketball.  I sucked pretty bad when I first came out, but I’ve gotten a lot better.  That’s really fun.

Not much else to share from these parts.  I haven’t taken many pictures lately, sorry about that.  There’s not much to see, though.  Well, take care.   I love you guys tons & 100 pounds!  See you next year!

Love,

Elder Peper

July 3, 2010 - Posted by | Letters from Elder Peper, Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

