Elder Peper

My Mission Experience

In Shawnee for Another Transfer

June 10, 2010

Hellooooo–La . . . La . . . La!

Transfers were last Wednesday, and Elder Stokes and I are both staying in Shawnee.  So, now I know a bit of my future: the next transfer date is July 21, and Elder Stokes will be leaving Shawnee for sure (because he is going home).  So, I’ll be here for one more transfer, at least, after that.  The next transfer date after that is September 1.  So, I get to be in a car area for the summer. 🙂  We have a good supply of miles here, as well.  I haven’t been on my bike since March.  (I’m sure I rode the bike trail in April on a P-Day, but that doesn’t count.)

Let’s see . . . We have some good investigators who are progressing towards baptism.  If all goes well, we should be able to have three baptisms this transfer.  One is a 9-year-old, one is a 30-ish-year-old and one is 80.  So, all differet age ranges.  This next transfer should be a good one.

I’ve been reading the Bible, and I’m now in Joshua, which is way better reading than Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy.  I just read the story where Joshua and his army circle Jericho and the walls crumble.  It’s interesting to read it in context with the rest of the Bible.  For instance, when they take over Jericho, they kill everyone except for a harlot, Rahab, and her family.  It explains that in a couple chapters previous.  Just some really interesting stuff.

I also downloaded some talks onto my MP3 player.  I got a few good McConkie talks, and a good one by Hugh Nibley.  I’d certainly like to read some of his stuff, but I guess I’ll have to wait until I’m home.  Oh well.

Things are going pretty well.  We’ll have our new Mission President, President Taylor, at the end of this month, so that should be interesting.  I wonder what kinds of things are going to be different around here.

Ah, the next time you send a package my way, I’d really appreciate a bag of Dill Pickle & also a bag of BBQ Spitz Sunflower Seeds.  I can’t find Sptiz here.  I can only find David, and David’s are gross.  So, if you don’t mind, that would be awesome.

I can’t think of too much else that’s going on.  Sorry I missed you on Tuesday.  I’m not sure what happened there.  I did get your letter on Monday, though, so that’s nice.  Thanks for that!  I love how the mail takes two days to get from here to home.  I still hear quite often from G&G Peper, which is awesome.  Also, I haven’t written Brian Hunt back because I don’t have his address.  Could you get that for me?  Thanks!

I’m sure I told you this but Janice (from Burk) got baptized.  I emailed Elder Jackson and I also get a letter from Brother Ferguson with a baptismal program included.  Apparently, she’s doing quite well.  Elder Jackson got transferred from Burk to Lawton, and Elder Crump got sent to Burke.

Well, I hope everything is good.  I love you! Thanks for everything.

Love,

Elder Peper

June 14, 2010 - Posted by | Letters from Elder Peper, Photos, Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

