Elder Peper

My Mission Experience

In a Mail Drought

A last picture with his Texas District

April 29, 2010

Howdy!

Well, I’m now in my new area: Shawnee, Oklahoma.  It’s going to be a lot different than Burkburnett.  The ward here has between 500 and 600 members, with a 12 or 13% activity rate.  Apparently, only about 70 people are actually at church.  I’m not sure what the deal is, but it makes it so a lot of our focus goes toward less actives.  We only have one investigator right now, but I’m sure that will change if we work hard.

I haven’t been able to do much because I’ve been sick for the past couple of days.  Sister Gee, the Mission President’s wife, takes care of medical stuff, so I gave her a call.  A missionary in my old District has the same thing I have only he had it a day before me, I believe.  He’s feeling better today, so hopefully I’m good to go tomorrow.

Shawnee seems to be a really nice town.  It’s not terribly flat and ugly like you would imagine most of Oklahoma being.  I think I’m going to like it here a lot.  My companion seems really nice.  He’s pretty quiet, though.  He’s from Lava Hot Springs, Idaho.  I don’t know him very well yet, though.  He doesn’t talk much.

I’ve suddenly been in a serious mail drought.  The only people I’ve gotten letters from in the past 3 weeks are you and Grandma Peper.  I’m not quite sure what’s been going on with my friends, but I haven’t gotten anything from any of them for a while.  Oh well.  Life goes on either way.

Let’s see.  I don’t have too terribly much else to say.  I’ve just gotten here and don’t know too many people yet.  I guess I could update you on some happenings in Burk that you haven’t heard yet.

Sister Coffey’s baptism last Saturday went really well.  There were two 8-year-old baptisms in conjunction with it.  Janice (an investigator) came to the baptism, and then she came to church on Sunday.  On Monday, she was already fed up with the persecution she is getting.  . . . Just pray for her.

The Packards bought us pizza because they knew I was leaving.  They both really like us a lot.  . . . I’m staying in contact with the Fraziers (that’s the family we baptized).  I should be able to go through the Temple with her when she gets her endowments out.  New converts have to wait a year before going through the Temple.

That about does it.  I’m just bummed because the storm season has been slow this year.  I’m told that last spring was crazy.  Hopefully, we’ll get some good ones soon.

I’m glad you had a good time in Hawaii.  By the looks of your pictures, it was fun!  Talk to you in a couple of weeks! Tell everyone “Hi” for me.  I love you!

Love, Elder Peper

May 3, 2010 - Posted by | Letters from Elder Peper, Photos, Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

