Elder Peper

My Mission Experience

Miracle Moments

Dear Parents and Families,

Last week we held Zone Conferences in the Stillwater, Oklahoma City, and Lawton zones.  We practiced getting better at teaching the second lesson, “The Plan of Salvation.”  This was another exercise of drawing names out of the hat and giving them the topic to teach.  It is quite a miracle in itself that they can do this.  I have so much admiration for them.  If you ever want an exercise, try teaching the entire plan of salvation.  It would make a great home evening lesson.  It would also show the challenge of articulating the doctrine.  We also studied the Pre-Mortal Existence along with various other things.

I have mentioned before that I ask the missionaries to send me their little daily miracles.  President Gee also invites recent converts to share their testimony and their conversion story.  I will share a couple of examples:  The first is from a twelve-year-old girl who was just baptized.

“The reason I joined the Chruch is because I know the church is true and I think that if you feel comfortable somewhere and you believe the same thing that what your church tells you, then you should not be scared of what other people tell you and that is why I chose to get baptized at the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.  I felt like I was as clean as I have ever been when I got baptized.  I felt like I was the only person on earth at that second.  I felt like I was the only one and God was holding me and telling me that he loved me and that I wouldn’t have to worry; that he would always be there.  I would never have to worry about being alone.  That is what I also loved about reading the Book of Mormon.  It taught me so much and I believe that Joseph Smith is a prophet of God and well he is just awesome.  That’s how I feel.  Sincerely, Chelsey”

“Our new investigator is Angelia.  She’s a single mom and she has been waiting to know what God wants her to do.  Then we knocked on her door–twice!  The first knock, she said she wasn’t interested.  Then we talked to a guy in the parking lot.  Going back to our tracting we accidently knocked on her door again, but this time she asked for a Book of Mormon, and we made an appointment.  She says that the Holy Spirit told us to knock again.  Tell Sister Gee that God works miracles, even through stupidity.  Oh, and she came to church and hopefully we’ll start teaching her daughter this week.   Sister Goodell”

This is just a taste of what your missionaries are doing.  The weather is near perfect.  The Elders are in their shirt-sleeves.  The redbuds are blooming everywhere.  The redbud is the state tree and since I love magenta I think they are gorgeous.  Flowers are blooming.  Spring has sprung.  We all wish it could stay like this for a few months.  Have a great week.

Love, Sister Gee (and President Gee)

April 26, 2010 - Posted by | Letters from Mission President/Wife, Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

