Elder Peper

My Mission Experience

A Really Good Day (on a Really Long Street)

We just received a wonderful, and rather long, letter from Riley.  How exciting it is for me to hear that my son is working so hard at serving the Lord and loving it so much!  He truly loves the work and the people.  Here are some excerpts from his most recent letter:

Hey Everyone!

Things are going really well for us here.  Last week was a really good week.  Some good stuff has been happening here.  We have a baptism coming up on April 24, so that’s exciting. . . Today was a long day.  No, it was actually a short day, but it was hard work.  We’re out of miles for March, so we were on our bikes all day today.  It got up to about 80 today, but it felt good.  (Tomorrow is supposed to be 86 and Wednesday is supposed to be 92.)  But anyway, we tracted for quite a while today, and ended up getting a lot of success from this one street we tracted (a long street).  I wish I could compare today’s numbers with something you are familiar with, but I can’t.  So, just know that they are awesome.  We got five potential investigators today.  A potential is someone who asks us to come back at another time.  The good thing about these five is that they all set up specific appointments  for us to come back (which hardly ever happens).  We usually set a contact goal for a week at 90 contacts.  Today alone we were able to get 50.  It was just a really good day.

Also, on another note, I finished reading the Book of Mormon this morning.  You should see my scripture study journal now.  I wrote a summary for every chapter and also my thoughts on each individual chapter in the Book of Mormon.  That thing is cool!

The members here are really awesome.  One particular family told us that they would take us to the Wichita “Mountains” before this transfer is over.  So, that should be fun.  “Mt.”  Scott is the highest point in the mission.  I think it is a little over 2000 ft.  Haha.  That family is really cool, though.  They are both returned missionaries from a Switzerland mission.  They insist that they didn’t meet on their mission.  They have two young kids (a 7 and a 2-year-old, I believe), and they feed us about every other week.  The husband usually comes and plays basketball with us and some guys from the ward.

Let’s see . . . President Gee says that he is really impressed with our area, and how it’s progressed.  Brother Ferguson said that people have talked about how much they notice the work picking up in our area.  I love hearing things like that.  Not to make me feel good about myself, but to know that I’m doing what I’m supposed to be doing.

I’m going to be ready to get a new area, so I hope I get transferred on April 28.  I’m not sick of it yet, but I’m sure I’ll be ready for some change by then.  I wouldn’t mind staying for one more transfer if I ended up training a new missionary next transfer, but I doubt that that will happen.  Who knows.  Elder Jackson trained on his fourth transfer.  Maybe I will, too.  I so hope that I don’t stay Junior Companion next transfer.  I’d like to move up to Senior.  I’ve never been good at the “loser stages.”  It’s like the bunny hill of the mission, and I would like to move up.  Whatever happens is supposed to happen, though.

Tell Madi thank you so much for the letter.  It’s in my binder! Tell her I love her tons and tons and 100 pounds! . . . Oh, tell Laney that she needs to write me back, please. 🙂  . . .

All is well here, though.  I’m loving it!  My companion and I are anxiously waiting a tornado.  We hope to get one on film, so pray for that.  (Just kidding.)  We do want to see one, though.

Be sure to keep in touch.  Also, take those fat dogs for a walk!  Lucy doesn’t still sleep in my room, does she?

Well, I love and miss you all.  I can’t wait to call home in a little over a month!

Love,

Elder Peper

April 1, 2010 - Posted by | Letters from Elder Peper, Photos, Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. ha! the bunny hill of the mission… he sounds great 🙂

    Comment by Geneil | April 1, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

