Elder Peper

My Mission Experience

Dear Madi

An envelope from Elder Peper addressed to both of his sisters arrived today.  Inside the envelope were two seperate letters, one addressed to each sister.  I did not see the letter to Delaney, as she read it and put it among her things before I had a chance to peek.  I was privileged to read the letter to Madi, though, since she is only 5 and overwhelmed at reading too many words on one page.  I particularly appreciated Riley’s way of helping Madi understand the importance of what he is doing and to know that, even though he is far away, he loves and misses her.

In the first paragraph, he asked all about Madi and the things she is doing. He then explained a little bit about what he is doing on his mission.  Here is an excerpt:

I miss you a lot and can’t wait to see you!  I do love being on a mission, though.  I get to teach people about Heavenly Father and Jesus and how much they love us.  I also get to baptize people and give people blessings.  It’s really fun, and I know Heavenly Father wants me to be in Texas right now.  I wish you could visit.  I do get to call home in two months, so I will talk to you on Mother’s Day.  That is going to be awesome.

I love you a lot and I hope you are being a good girl.  Let me know if there is anything I can do for you.  I love you and miss you!

Love, Riley

(He included a pencil sketch at the bottom of the letter.  It was a picture of Madi skiing. She was particularly delighted because he drew her using ski poles, which she doesn’t get to do very often but so wants to, like the big kids do.)

What a blessing it is for our family to be a part of this experience with Riley.  I hope some of these letters and posts help you to feel included, as well.

March 1, 2010 - Posted by | Letters from Elder Peper, Photos, Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. I love it when you post the tiniest little thing, as it does help me feel included. Sweet Riley also writes Kellie almost weekly (she writes him right back). She calls and reads his letters to me. What a neat missionary he is!

    Comment by Denise | March 2, 2010 | Reply

  2. Wow. I had no idea Riley and Kellie were writing every week. That is great!

    Comment by mbpeper | March 2, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

